Tags

,

Holy crap, this entire blog is becoming about eating. Eating optimally, issues about eating, recipes, food food food food food. Which is kind of natural to me as a cook, and there was always going to be a lot about it here, but half of my posts so far, and the next two in the queue, are all about it.

Time to talk about something else, dammit.

Let me see . . . *flips through list of notes for topics* Aha! I know! Today I will rant about fatshion.

Fatshion is, as you might assume from the name, fat fashion. Fashion for fatties. Now, being into fashion as a fat person is an inherently radical act, as far as I’m concerned. The fashion industry explicitly does not want us and does not welcome us. Most designers flat refuse to design clothes for us. You will never see us on a Paris or New York runway in a show attended by hundreds of rich people and journalists. Department stores that carry things in our sizes relegate those clothes to a separate section in a far corner. Stores that cater to us have very limited styles, many of them bland and old-ladyish, and service there is often dreadful. For very fat people, clothes are often not available in brick-and-mortar stores at all, and have to be specially ordered. Even basic clothes in our sizes are regularly two, three, four times more expensive, and poorly made to boot. In the face of all that, working at being fashionable, at wearing clothes that look good on us, is a radical fucking act.

So why is so much of fatshion so bloody boring?

Fatties rave about how great Igigi, ASOS Curve, eShakti, and Evans are. And I find them all mostly dull, dull, dull. Gender normative (what’s a fat butch woman to do? not that I am one, but still), mainstream, nothing daring or different. Mostly dresses and skirts, and what pants there are are exceptionally boring. Lots of fucking cardigans and shrugs. Uuuuuugh.

Gimme fat punk, fat goth, fat steampunk, fat rockabilly, fat fetish, fat geeky cosplay. Hell, gimme Torrid before it went pink. (Seriously, people who like pink can have it. Fuck pink. We hates it, precious.) Gimme, gimme, gimme!

Oh, you can find it. But you have to really hunt for it. You have to piece it together for yourself out of odds and ends, things that one site carries, maybe, occasionally, in your size, things that can be altered if you’re clever, thing you make yourself or get friends to make for you. Things bought from fucking expensive sites. Hardly anything in a store where you can try it on, though.

I’ve been slowly putting together a fat steampunk wardrobe for a while now, stuff I can wear for everyday and not just at cons and special events, inspired by Jillian Venter’s Goth At the Office series. (Yes, she really does dress like that every day. You should see what she wears when she really dresses up.) I don’t actually wear it every day — in fact right now I’m hardly wearing it at all — but when I was working at the restaurant, I’d dress steampunk a couple of times a week, when I didn’t expect to have to help out on the floor or in the kitchen.

But these things hardly ever show up on fatshion communities, which are almost relentlessly mainstream. Alternafatties are out there, because I know a bunch of us, but we don’t post to the communities much, probably because they are relentlessly mainstream. Vicious cycle. Most of the time, the most interesting outfit of the day posts I see on my usual fatshion community are frilly, hyper-feminine, near-lolita things, which are at least different. (Really, I follow it for random tips on new places to get things, and discussions about how to deal with doctors and other random fat living conversations.)

Oh, people do start things like fat steampunk communities, but all the ones I’ve found have died pretty quickly. It’s sad.

It’s a rant, I don’t have a good conclusion. I’m just lamenting how dull fatshion is, for such a radical concept. I’m a jeans-and-t-shirt girl, most of the time (I call myself a bluejeans femme). But it would be nice to have some examples of fun things to aspire to, when I do feel like dressing a little nicer.

